Drunk Food Doesn’t Have to be Greasy

An Intoxicated Review of the Green Bowl by Chaney Giordano

We all know that, once you’ve had a few drinks, the purse strings get looser and the food tastes better. So, with all of this alcohol-induced freedom to eat anything we want, why is it that so many of us end up eating the same bag of chips or greasy slice of pizza on those Friday night walks home?

I was guilty of this before my experience at the Green Bowl, one of Baltimore’s most popular food trucks. Their whole shtick is utilizing environmentally friendly ingredients and materials to create some awesome Asian and Latin-inspired dishes, including mofongo, bibimbap, spring rolls, and tostones.

Don’t know what any of that is? No problem! The truck has super helpful, drunk person-friendly signs to tell you what you’re ordering.

IMG_3338
So simple and helpful, it’s like their intended audience is stumbling drunks.

I went with the bibimbap with lemongrass chicken and an order of tostones, which are fried plantains. (Aka, everything you never knew you needed in a snack.) I tried to give the bibimbap a go with chopsticks, which I’m normally pretty skilled with, but that lasted about 30 seconds before I switched over to a bright-green, compostable fork.

IMG_3346
Tell me your mouth isn’t watering right now.

 

Everything I ate at The Green Bowl satisfied everything my drunk self needed. First, the servings are huge, so even in my starving state, I almost couldn’t finish it. (Almost.) Second, every bite of food from this place is bursting with flavor. Even the tostones, which I could’ve eaten my body weight of on their own, came with a bold and zesty Old Bay sauce. Finally, there was a fried egg on top of my bibimbap, and if you don’t love some fried eggs when drunk, you’re lying.I went with the bibimbap with lemongrass chicken and an order of tostones, which are fried plantains. (Aka, everything you never knew you needed in a snack.) I tried to give the bibimbap a go with chopsticks, which I’m normally pretty skilled with, but that lasted about 30 seconds before I switched over to a bright-green, compostable fork.

IMG_3366
Tostones: my new favorite snack, drunk or sober.

Perhaps the best part was that I did my drunk munching without feeling completely gross afterward. This was a pretty healthy meal, it was loaded with veggies, which I happily devoured – at first. I will admit that, as I got full, the veggies were what I chose to pick around.

There is one small caveat to the drunken Green Bowl experience. The Green Bowl is really a lunchtime business, and usually gone by the time your nighttime shenanigans are drawing to a close. However, if you’re up for some “daging,” (raging in the day) they’re the perfect lunch.

Basically, The Green Bowl rocked my drunken socks. The food was great, the truck was psychedelic neon green, and you have to love a business that makes it easy to be environmentally friendly. So, next time you’re daging in the city, trade in your greasy slice of pizza find the Green Bowl order the  bibimbap, and don’t forget the side of tostones!

IMG_3374
Except, thanks to the Green Bowl, it kind of IS easy being green.

Chaney Giordano is a Baltimore-based writer, traveler, beachgoer, outdoors lover, and adventure seeker.

Leave a Reply

